Whether your situation involves being accused of a crime or in need of filing a bankruptcy our office is ready to navigate the difficulties of the legal system on your behalf.
We represent a variety of clients, and we want all our clients to feel comfortable when visiting our office to discuss your legal concerns. We provide a friendly environment that helps concerned clients feel comfortable. We are confident we can address your uncertainty, answer your questions, and provide you a consultation so you can make an informed decision what course of action is best for you.
A DUI (driving under the influence) arrest or charge requires immediate action to protect your rights. If you have been detained or accused of a DUI, you need an experienced defense attorney who can immediately help you. DUI is a very technical and sometimes complicated area of criminal defense. An experienced defense attorney can help significantly in protecting your legal rights and possibly reducing or having the charges dismissed.
You have the right to decline the field sobriety and/or breathalyzer tests. In Idaho, if you fail to request a hearing within the seven-day time period or do not prevail at the requested hearing, your license will be suspended for 90 days on a first offense (you may be eligible to receive a restricted driving permit for the last 60 days of your suspension). A second or subsequent offense within five years will result in a one-year suspension, with absolutely no driving privileges of any kind.
At Wilson Law Offices, we provide many years of experience and devoted DUI defense while fighting to minimize the penalties and charges if possible. If you get charged, it is essential to contact us as quickly as possible to try to prevent long-term influences on your life.
For many of our clients, a DUI charge is the first time they have ever been in trouble with the law. We understand that your reputation, profession, and future may be in jeopardy. We will take your charges as seriously as you do. Call (208)343-8400 or contact us online. If you need legal representation after normal business hours, then call (208)859-0205.
In the state of Idaho, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or more (under 21 it is just 0.02%).
In addition to the criminal penalties for a DUI conviction, there are administrative suspensions through the Idaho Department of Transportation AND associated reinstatement fees.
The following is a summary of penalties for DUI in Idaho, as defined in Idaho Code 18-8005:
The FIRST DUI conviction
Jail: up to 6 months
Fines: up to $1,000
License suspension: 90 to 180 days
The SECOND DUI conviction within 10 Years
Jail: 10 days mandatory, up to 1 year
Fines: up to $2,000
License suspension: 1-year mandatory after release from confinement with no driving privileges of any kind
Ignition interlock mandatory
Second Offense with in 5 years
Jail: 10 days mandatory with the initial 48 hours consecutive.
License suspension: 1-year mandatory after release from confinement with no driving privileges of any kind.
Third DUI conviction within 10 years
Jail: minimum 30 days mandatory jail up to 5 years in prison
Fines: up to $5,000.
License suspension: Up to 5 year license suspension; 1 year mandatory license suspension after release from confinement with no driving privileges
Enhanced Penalties for BAC Levels of 0.20% or Greater
Aggravated DUI It is a felony to cause serious injury to another person while driving under the influence. Jail time, fines and driving suspension are enhanced.
External Links Citation: https://www.isp.idaho.gov/isp/citizen/inc/documents/DUI-English.pdf